The Scorpion and the Frog

31 Mar

As some of you may know, i’ve always loved fables and short stories. It’s great how a very very short story can teach so much with just a few words.
In this occassion, Aesop’s “The Scorpion and the Frog” goes perfect with what happened the other day in Second Life, that scarily reminds me of one of my Real Life best friends.

The Scorpion and the Frog


(image courtesy of luna1316)

A scorpion and a frog meet on the bank of a stream and the scorpion asks the frog to carry him across on its back. The frog asks, “How do I know you won’t sting me?” The scorpion says, “Because if I do, I will die too.”

The frog is satisfied, and they set out, but in midstream,the scorpion stings the frog. The frog feels the onset of paralysis and starts to sink, knowing they both will drown,but has just enough time to gasp “Why?”

Replies the scorpion: “Its my nature…”

Sometimes frogs are attracted to scorpions. Scorpions are strong, shiny, dangerous…that kind of bad boy look that many many frogs fall for.
The frog falls in love with the scorpion, she is soo happy and feels so proud: how can i be so lucky to have such a beautiful scorpion by my side? They are together, they have fun, and the frog thinks things are too nice and sweet to be true. The scorpion sometimes hurts the frog, he has to keep his sting in shape he says, she feels hurted but understands. After all, he loves me, i am his frog, why would he be with me if he didn’t love me? So she forgets and forgives.

Sometimes a frog can be smart enough to leave the dangerous dude and follow her way safely, but most times they get caught, like a fly in a spiderweb.
Sooner or later the scorpion will sting the frog so bad they will both sink in some stream, no matter how many times the dude says he can change.

Please frogs, stay away from scorpions…it’s in their nature!

Sing me a song

