What is beauty for you?

28 Mar

Beauty: a word everyone knows but, if you ask people, not many can describe beauty with words. Is beauty tangible or does it belong to the world of the subconscience?
I personally can find beauty in practically anything, but would have a hard time describing why things or even people are beautiful to me.
Studies say there are certain facial features that most people find pretty: symetric face, big eyes, yummy lips, long legs, soft skin… but still, beauty is so subjective i totally agree that it is “in the eye of the beholder. However, in every country, rich and poor, cultured and ignorants have been seeking for beauty, everyone has tried or tries to fit in that concept of beauty our social environment tells us is the right one. Gazillions of euros, dollars or whatever currency you want have been invested in looking better: make up, hair dressers, gyms, clothes, cosmetics and other beauty treatments, plastic surgery…

In my oppinion it is healthy trying to look pretty or at least trying to look better using whatever tools are availble for you. Like any woman i know, and also a few men, i spend quite a lot of time trying to improve myself. Dieting, exercising and so is healthy yes, but not if you get obsessed with it. We should keep in mind that we’re all unique and that noone has to fit in any prototype.

Take a second to think: everyone you liked look the same? everything you find beautiful fits the same style? Probably not, or at least i hope so, because otherwise you’d be missing the spice of life!!

Thinking of it, beauty always shines through everything, you just need to keep your eyes open…

8 Responses to “What is beauty for you?”

  1. karmannghiamcginnis March 28, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    You are definitely a great beauty – inside and out! Very thought provoking, Ames, thanks for making me stop and think for a bit about what I considered beauty 🙂

    • ameliesilverweb March 28, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      Awww hun!!! You’re one of the most beautiful people i’ve met in SL, sure Batdude is a very lucky guy 🙂
      I’m glad you liked the post, that means a lot!!

  2. Ambrosous Core March 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Odd but one of the most beautiful people i have ever met…i have never seen.

    • ameliesilverweb March 28, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      That’s because beauty is not only physical, in fact the things that make a person more beautiful are not visible to the eye.
      Hugs xoxo.

  3. Hope Seranade March 28, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    So very true Ames just look at SL to, like RL most are buying new skins, eyes etc it’s almost plastic surgery without the pain and I know I can be as bad as anyone at changing my hair and so on.

    For me it’s peoples spsirits that make them truly beautiful and because of that I have in sl like RL a friends list littered with people from all walks of life

    I love the photo’s :0)

    • ameliesilverweb March 28, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Exactly my point Hope! I wish sometimes i could change hair so easily in RL too, wouldn’t it be awesome?

      It’s is what’s behind the look what makes someone beautiful for sure. 🙂

      Glad you liked the post!! Huge hugs hun!

  4. Friggin March 29, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I take a lot of pleasure in fixing with my avi, ‘grooming’ myself in Second Life. A lot more than I do in the real world, but it’s because it is so simple in a virtual environment. It’s fun playing dress up, trying on different styles and seeing how your identity alters with your clothes, well atleast how people percieve you. I also find myself finding lots of different looks attractive, and in the same manner, finding lots unattractive. I’m finding that I get my dislikes confirmed just as much as I discover new likes.

    Though, one thing that has always amused me about the beauty ideal craze, is that it does not matter how much money you spend on yourself, the (i’m going awfully corny here, bear with me) real beauty can’t be fixed for money – the one that comes from within; your personality.

    You are lucky Ames, you got both sorts. 🙂 However, no matter what horrid makeup you put on, your real beauty will still be there.

    • ameliesilverweb March 29, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Awww Frig, don’t make me show you REAL HORRID make ups!!!! 🙂

      xoxo

Sing me a song